Members

The membership of the Task Force includes representation by government, industry, academia, consumers, elected officials and other interested parties. The Task Force should be composed of 26 voting members.

 

2021 VFPTF Board

Chair – Christy Brennan
Virginia Rapid Response Team Coordinator
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Food Safety Program
Phone: (804)-786-1585
Email:  christy.brennan@vdacs.virginia.gov

Vice Chair – Peri Pearson, REHS, CP-FS
State Food Consultant, Office of Environmental Health Services
Virginia Department of Health
Phone: (804) 864-7692
Email: peri.pearson@vdh.virginia.gov

Secretary – Dr. Lauren Turner, Ph.D.
Foodborne and Advanced Pathogen Characterization Lead Scientist
Department of General Services
Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services
Office: (804) 648-4480 ext. 122
Email: lauren.turner@dgs.virginia.gov

Member At Large- Renee Boyer, PhD,
Professor/Extension Specialist,
Food Science and Technology Dept., Virginia Tech
Phone: Phone: 540-231-4330
Email: rraiden@vt.edu

Appointed members:
Academia:
Laura K Strawn, PhD,
Assistant Professor, Extension Specialist, Produce Food Safety,
Food Science and Technology Dept.,
Virginia Tech- Eastern Shore AREC
Phone: 757-414-0724
Email: Lstrawn@vt.edu

Industry:
Corrin A. Howard, MPH
WAWA
Senior Analyst, Food Safety Compliance
Email:Corrin.Howard@wawa.com

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services:
Caroline Wilkinson
Agriculture Commodities Program (Feed & Fertilizer) Program Supervisor
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Phone: 252-333-6404
Email:  Caroline.Wilkinson@vdacs.virginia.gov

Virginia Department of Health:
Brandy Darby, DVM, MPH,
Veterinary Epidemiologist, Virginia Department of Health
Office: 804-864-8133
Email: brandy.darby@vdh.virginia.gov

 Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services:
Jessica Maitland, PhD
Lead Scientist, Department of General Services,
Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services
Office: (804) 648-4480

Email: Jessica.maitland@dgs.virginia.gov
 

Advisory Board:
Pam Miles, Program Supervisor, Food Safety Program,
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Phone: 804-786-0412
Email: pamela.miles@vdacs.virginia.gov

Julie Henderson, Director, Division of Food and General Environmental Services,
Virginia Department of Health
Phone: 804-864-7455
Email: Julie.henderson@vdh.virginia.gov

Kenya Moon, Retail Food Specialist, FDA Office of State Cooperative Programs,
Office of Regulatory Affairs,
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Human & Animal Foods Division 2 East
Email: kenya.moon@fda.hhs.gov

Valeria A. Moore, MPH, REHS, CP-FS
Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Public Health Service
Emergency Response Coordinator/Investigator, Baltimore District Office,
Human & Animal Foods Division 2 East
Email: valeria.moore@fda.hhs.gov

 

Resource Search